Māori Party congratulates NZ Honours recipients

The Māori Party commends all the 2016 Queen’s Birthday Honours recipients including tāngata whenua who have committed themselves to their work and serving their communities.

Māori Party Co-leader Te Ururoa Flavell says national recognition of Matiu Te Rei (Rei) is long overdue. Mr Rei (Ngāti Toa, Ngāti Whakaue) has been awarded a knighthood for his services to Māori.

“Matiu led the Waitangi Tribunal claim for Ngāti Toa and since 1989 he has been pivotal in the growth of their post-settlement entity, Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangatira as their Executive Director. He is also a strong promoter of the tribe’s language, customs and culture.”

Mr Rei has a long involvement in fisheries including being the former Chair of Te Ohu Kaimoana Trust and is a negotiator for the Aquaculture settlement.

Christopher Mace (Ngāti Porou, Te Whānau ā-Apanui) has also been awarded a knighthood for his services to science and education.

Māori Party Co-leader Marama Fox says Mr Mace is probably best known for his contribution to marine science and as the Chairman of NIWA (National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research) since 2009.

“He has also been a highly successful businessman and was awarded the Māori Businessman of the Year in 2011. His trajectory is an inspiration to many others; including his work across environmental science, education and the arts.”

The Māori Party is thrilled that Professor John Broughton (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Kahungunu ki Heretaunga) and Professor Pou (William Te Rangiua) Temara (Ngāi Tūhoe) are now Companions of the New Zealand Order of Merit (CNZM).

Mrs Fox says Professor Broughton has been a leading light in Māori dental health or oranga niho.

“He has been largely responsible for the integration of Hauora Māori and oranga niho into the dental curriculum at Otago University. He has been the Director of the Māori Dental Health Clinic at the School of Dentistry since 1990.

“Along with his services to Māori health, he has also been recognised for his services to theatre and community. He has written and co-produced more than 22 theatre productions. Professor Broughton has shown like Mr Mace and Mr Rei that there can be synergy between the arts and science,” she says.

Professor Broughton is also the Board Chair of the New Zealand Institute for Cancer Research and a life member of the Araiteuru Marae Council.

Professor Pou Temara, a widely acclaimed exponent of tikanga and te reo Māori, has been awarded his CNZM for services to Māori and Education.

He is Professor of Te Reo Māori and Tikanga Māori at Waikato University and a Director of the Māori Language School of Excellence – Te Panekiretanga o Te Reo Māori at Te Wānanga o Aotearoa.

Mr Flavell says Professor Temara has had a profound influence on this generation of Māori language speakers, orators and Māori weaponry exponents.

“Pou has shared his immense knowledge of tikanga and te reo Māori with thousands of students. His inquisitorial mind has challenged many of us to rethink our view of Māori traditions and more importantly how to apply them in a modern context.

“Along with others, he has trained some of the best Māori language speakers, tohunga karakia (traditional prayer exponents) and Māori language teachers in this country.”

Four Māori have also become Officers of the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM).

Charles Crofts (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāi Tūāhuriri) has been awarded an ONZM for his services to Māori in particular his work as a lead negotiator in the Ngāi Tahu claim and as the first Kaiwhakahaere of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu between 1993 and 1996.

Mrs Fox says Mr Crofts is “an omnipotent presence among Ngāi Tahu and he continues to be immersed in the life of the tribe”.

Mr Crofts is currently the Chair of Koukourarata Rūnanga on Banks Peninsula and Kaumātua for the Christchurch Cty Council.

Danielle Pikihuia Harris (Rangitāne) has been awarded an ONZM for services to Māori and health. Mrs Harris has led her tribe’s Treaty settlement since 2007 and is the CEO of the tribe’s iwi authority, Tānenuiārangi Manawatū Inc based in Palmerston North.

Mr Flavell says it’s hugely gratifying to see the Rangitāne negotiations come to an end with the ratifying of their settlement currently before Parliament.

“Danielle has been a relentless advocate and servant of her people. She will be at the helm when it begins its next phase as a post-settlement iwi.”

Ms Harris heads the health and social services arm of Rangitāne o Manawatū and she is the Acting Chair for the Manawhenua Hauora Board for the Mid-Central District Health Board.

Kevin Prime (Ngāti Hine, Ngāti Whātua, Tainui) has been awarded an ONZM for his services to Māori and conservation.

Mrs Fox says Mr Prime has been an outstanding indigenous advocate for the kaitiakitanga (guardianship) of our natural environment, particularly in Northland.

“He has been at the forefront of developing programmes and educating others on a tangata whenua view of our environment,” she says.

Mr Prime is a foundation kōmiti member of Ngā Whenua Rāhui (1990- ), which protects Māori land through the use of conservation convenants, he has been a Commissioner for the Environment Court since 2003 and he is the Chair of the Reconnecting Northland Project which is a large-scale ecological restoration programme focused on the wellbeing of people and the land.

Dr Charlotte Severne (Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngāi Tūhoe) has also been awarded an ONZM for services to Māori and science.

Mr Flavell says, “Dr Severne has been a strong mentor for Māori students in science and a trail blazer in helping Māori entities to better use science and research to better mangage their resources”.

She held senior management roles at NIWA for 12 years including the role as the Chief Scientist Māori Development and Chief Scientist Ocean Research. She is currently the Deputy Vice Chancellor Māori and Communities at Lincoln University and she serves on a number of Tūwharetoa entities.

Mrs Fox says the long list of Māori receiving Honours today is a testament to the outstanding contribution individuals are making to their sectors and communities.

“We can all be proud of their work and commitment. We all benefit from the positive influence they have had on our lives.”

Māori awarded MNZM (Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit) include Norm Dewes (Ngāti Kahungunu) for services to Māori and community, Marlene Flavell (Te Arawa) for services to Netball, Maru Nihoniho (Ngāi Tahu, Te Whānau ā-Apanui) for services to the Gaming Industry and Mental Health, Hariata Paikea (Te Arawa, Ngāti Kea, Ngāti Tuarā) for services to Health and Māori, Tina Porou (Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Tūwharetoa) for services to Māori and the environment, Rahera Shortland (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Hine) for services to Māori, Education and Television, Teresa Te Pania-Ashton (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Kahu ki Whaingaroa, Te Rarawa) for services to Māori and Business and Dr Peetikuia Bessie Wainui (Te Aitanga a Māhaki) for services to Māori, Health and Education.

Māori awarded QSM include Sylvia Forester (Ngāti Ruanui, Ngā Rauru, Te Āti Haunui ā Pāpārangi) for her services to the New Zealand Fire Service, Pareaute Nathan (Tainui, Te Rarawa) for services to Māori and Education, Rev. Raunikau (Rose) Stainton (Ngāti Porou) for services to Māori and Arihia Stirling (Te Whānau ā-Apanui, Ngāti Porou, Ngāi Tahu) for services to Education and Māori and Bruce Tuanui (Moriori, Ngāti Mutunga) for services to Conservation.

Showing 2 reactions

Authorised by Susan Cullen, 5 Gala Street, Waihōpai